The Med Lit Review
Episode 10: REDUCE steroid use for a GOLD medal

Episode 10: REDUCE steroid use for a GOLD medal

November 18, 2020

On this episode, we review the REDUCE trial asking if 5 days of steroids was non-inferior to a longer, 2 week course for patients with a COPD exacerbation. We go all in on non-inferiority trials and address Sean’s difficulty counting to 0. Listen in to what may have been our last in person recording 😔. But as always, please  leave a rating on Apple Podcasts and follow us on Instagram and Twitter @ Med_Lit_Review! We ❤️ your feedback! 🔥🥇💨

Episode 9: SALT of the Earth

Episode 9: SALT of the Earth

September 11, 2020

The team is BACK after a long, pandemic-filled hiatus. In this episode, we try to uncover which isotonic IV fluid is best using the SALT-ED trial. It's the showdown we've always wanted between lactated ringers and normal saline. We also talk about composite outcomes and multiplicity. Follow on Instagram and Twitter @Med_Lit_Review! And please leave us some feedback on the Apple Podcast app! 🧂🔥 

Episode 8: RABBIT-2, Sugar we’re going down (swinging)

Episode 8: RABBIT-2, Sugar we’re going down (swinging)

March 31, 2020

We hop into the RABBIT-2 trial to see how basal-bolus insulin plus correctional dose insulin compares to correctional dose insulin alone in the management of inpatient diabetes mellitus! We also make a quick stop in Stats Land to discuss repeated measures analysis of variance (ANOVA). Please leave a rating on Apple Podcasts and follow us on Instagram and Twitter @ Med_Lit_Review! 🔥🐰2️⃣

Episode 7: It’s a party in the (MIND) USA!

Episode 7: It’s a party in the (MIND) USA!

March 17, 2020

We venture into the MIND-USA trial on this episode to see if treating delirium in the ICU with antipsychotics reduces the # of days with delirium or coma! Our tour of Stats Land continues with a review blinding and multiplicity - yes, good old multiplicity. Plus, Rachel's mom gets a shout out (Hi, Susan!). Please leave a rating on Apple Podcasts and follow us on Instagram and Twitter @ Med_Lit_Review! 🔥 🧠 🇺🇸

Episode 6: C fecal transplant DIFFerently

Episode 6: C fecal transplant DIFFerently

March 3, 2020

In this episode, we review a trial comparing fecal transplant to oral vancomycin for the treatment of recurrent C. diff. We’ll review our C. diff treatments and talk about how authors decide when to terminate a study early. Sit back, relax, and listen to three residents discuss poop at length. As always, please follow on Instagram and Twitter @Med_Lit_Review! And please leave us some feedback on the Apple Podcast app!🔥💩

Episode 5: A Shocking InVESTigation

Episode 5: A Shocking InVESTigation

January 24, 2020

We checked out the VEST trial to see if patients with a low ejection fraction should use a wearable cardioverter-defibrillator in the immediate post-MI period. We review guideline recommendations and journey to Stats Land to talk about multiplicity. Please leave a rating on Apple Podcasts and follow us on Instagram and Twitter @ Med_Lit_Review! We ❤️ your feedback! 🔥⚡️

Episode 4: SOME like it hot

Episode 4: SOME like it hot

December 12, 2019

We dive into the SOME trial this week to see if we should more aggressively screen patients with an unprovoked DVT for occult malignancy. Join us on a trip to Stats Land where we touch on availability bias and different types of error. Please don’t forget to leave a rating on Apple Podcasts and follow us on Instagram and Twitter @ Med_Lit_Review! 🔥

Episode 3: HYPERION, A Trial of Fire and Ice

Episode 3: HYPERION, A Trial of Fire and Ice

November 20, 2019

This week, we discuss the HYPERION trial which looked at neurological outcomes with targeted temperature management after a cardiac arrest from NON-shockable rhythms. Please leave a rating on Apple Podcasts if you can and don’t forget to follow us on Instagram and Twitter @ Med_Lit_Review!!! 🔥❄️

Episode 2: SAGE Advice

Episode 2: SAGE Advice

November 11, 2019

Join us for a conversation about the SAGE-217 phase 2 trial, a new agent under investigation for the treatment of major depressive disorder! We talk about phases of trials, intention to treat vs. per-protocol analysis, and what the heck least mean square differences are. Follow us on Instagram and Twitter @Med_Lit_Review, and share your thoughts! 🔥

Episode 1: Fine Danish POETry

Episode 1: Fine Danish POETry

November 5, 2019

Join us for a discussion of the POET trial where we see whether or not it is safe and efficacious to complete endocarditis treatment with oral instead of intravenous antibiotics! We talk about assay sensitivity, study generalizability, and what the official language of Denmark is. Follow on Instagram and Twitter @Med_Lit_Review, we would LOVE your feedback. 🔥 

Play this podcast on Podbean App